Guahan Napu Holds 8th Rick’s Reef Classic Surf Contest

Another Rick’s Reef Classic in the books! The 8th annual surf contest featured a high number of competitors this year, and was a fun day for the whole family.

Results, as posted from the Guahan Napu Facebook Page:

2015 Rick’s Reef Classic VIII surfing, body-boarding and stand-up paddle surfing contest winners

(Barrigada, Guam –– Sunday, March 29, 2015) Nearly 60 wave riders competed in today’s Rick’s Reef Classic VIII surfing, body-boarding and stand-up paddle surfing competition at Satpon Point below the Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort.
After two holdover dates on Feb. 28 and March 14, contest organizers were finally rewarded with perfect weather and three- to four-foot high waves whichproduced a quality competition for contestants and spectators alike.
After three rounds of heats, the Short Board Surfing Open category saw four contestants advancing into the finals with the following results:
1st place – Todd Genereux. This is Genereux’s first entry in a Guahan Napu event and was a dark horse who wowed the spectators with his surfing prowess. Said Willi Byerly, contest director, “Everyone noticed him at Talofofo Bay during the passage of Tropical Storm Bavi two weeks ago and we wondered where he had been hiding all these years even though he is known in the surf community.”
2nd place – Shane Pier
3rd place – Jared Brandon Gogue
4th place – Matt Robles
In the Masters Short Board Surfing categoy, for surfers age 50 and older, the results were:
1st place – Kenny Pier, 63
2nd place – Pascual Robles, 51
3rd place – Albert Juan, 58
4th place – Martin Leon Guerrero, 57
This is the first year that Guahan Napu Inc., event host and organizer, has introduced this division

In Long Board Surfing Open:
1st place – Richmond Arciaga
2nd place – Myles Driscoll
3rd place – Kenny Pier
4th place – Addison Moyer

In Juniors Surfing (ages 11 to 18):
1st place – Jared Brandon Gogue
2nd place – Alison Bowman
3rd place – Misaki Cramer
4th place – Napu Taimanglo

In Body-Boarding Open:
1st place – John Barber
2nd place – Carl Dela Cruz
3rd place – Joe Santos
4th place – B.J. Cruz

In Stand Up Paddle Surfing (SUP) Open:
1st place – Roman Dela Crus
2nd place – Luis “Kiko” Bustamante
3rd place – Richmond Arciaga

For more details about the 2015 Rick’s Reef Classic VIII competition results, contact Willi Byerly at 483-1376, by email to or follow Guahan Napu on Facebook.

Photo credits: Michelle Pier, and in-action surf shots by Aki Siatan

IMG_2585 IMG_2584 IMG_2582 IMG_2546 IMG_2567 IMG_2583 IMG_2588 IMG_2578 IMG_2745 IMG_2744 IMG_2600 IMG_2602 IMG_2601 IMG_2609 IMG_2625 IMG_2639 IMG_2607 IMG_2647 IMG_2658 IMG_2689 IMG_2650 IMG_2679 IMG_2706 IMG_2746 IMG_2713 IMG_2747 IMG_2749 IMG_2734 IMG_2748 IMG_275011054527_10206248043229368_4220496106301958915_n11026021_10206248043749381_5030948107841879318_n11080248_10206248044949411_502407623975599244_n10952086_10206248045469424_680766777400702910_n10985396_10206248046349446_8248740672259357546_n10484777_10206248047109465_4020960760316763397_n11082532_10206248048269494_5569737825247852117_n11096431_10206248048709505_8438742399292673080_n10425362_10206248050629553_8787399750047937643_n11081433_10206248051709580_4885685811973427632_n11096554_10206248053949636_1099732027912148728_n10427289_10206248054829658_1987367560789771510_n1517387_10206248059949786_7836589823512818356_n1505621_10206248058869759_7115530339582626812_n11081413_10206248059189767_3809221688017112553_n11081198_10206248057349721_8309811154974347801_n